2019 Halcyon Awards

Halcyon Awards | September 27, 2019 | 6PM  
Reception | Awards | Dinner | After Party

Entertainment and Sports Arena | 1100 Oak Drive SE Washington, DC 20032

The Halcyon Awards recognize and honor talented arts icons, successful social entrepreneurs, and public policy visionaries -- changemakers and trailblazers who have dedicated their lives to pushing past traditional boundaries to create a movement, lead an organization, or impact the world. 

The 2019 Halcyon Awards will be a low carbon footprint event featuring a plant-based menu from world renowned chef Sebastian Quiroga. Expect a paperless event with eco-friendly touches throughout the evening. 

Sporty Cocktail (suits and sneakers) is welcome and complimentary parking will be offered. 

The three Halcyon Awards celebrate individuals who reflect the range of groundbreaking work Halcyon supports:

  • Arts Icon Award spotlighting an icon of artistic and social impact 
  • Business Luminary Award honoring a global pioneer in social enterprise
  • Policy Visionary Award celebrating innovators in public policy


Awardee Biographies

Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews

Performer, Bandleader, Producer, Philanthropist

Barbara Boxer

Former U.S. Senator

Seth Goldman

Co-founder & TeaEO Emeritus
Honest Tea

2019 Halcyon Awards Committee

Gina Adams, Co-Chair 
Senior Vice President, Government and Regulatory Affairs
FedEx Corporation

Simone Friedman, Co-Chair
Head of Philanthropy and Impact Investment,
EJF Philanthropies

Charo Abrams

Brittany Bansak

Marla Beck

Kathleen Buhle Biden

Katherine and David Bradley

Sid and Phyllis Bresler

Joe Brodecki

Danai Brooks

Lizette Corro

Daniel and Gayle D'Aniello

Debbie Driesman and Frank Islam

Lis Driscoll

Erin Egan

Nancy "Bitsey" Folger

David Gorodetski

Ghazaleh Gigi Hafizi

Mary and Robert Haft

Barbara Brown Hawthorn (Diplomatic Liaison)

Robert G. Hisaoka

Kathryn and Matt Indre

Juliet and Ed Jesson

Sheila C. Johnson

Leana and Marc Katz

Kay Kendall and Jack Davies

Amy Mackay

Jodi Macklin

Lynn and Mark McFadden

Cynthia McGee

Carol A. Melton

Kymber and Bo Menkiti

Kiyoshi Nakasaka

Hilda Ochoa-Brillembourg and Arturo Brillembourg

Kathy and Thomas Raffa

Russ and Norma Ramsey

Jayne Sandman

Erika Schiller

Amanda and Earl W. Stafford

Courtney and David Straus

Dr. Natalie Suzette-Hyatt Moore and Rashad L. Moore

Catherine and Tom Tinsley

Annie Simonian Totah

Mark Walsh and Polly Vail

Mitchell Weintraub

Neal Wilson

2019 Halcyon Awards Diplomatic Committee

His Excellency Joe Hockey (Diplomatic Chair), Ambassador of Australia, and Ms. Melissa Babbage

His Excellency Robinson Njeru Githae, Ambassador of the Republic of Kenya, and Mrs. Alice Githae

His Excellency Kurt Jaeger, Ambassador of the Principality of Liechtenstein, and Mrs. Laurette Jaeger

His Excellency Hynek Kmoniček, Ambassador of the Czech Republic, and Mrs. Indira Gumarova

His Excellency Dr. Barfuor Adjei-Barwuah, Ambassador of Ghana, and Mrs. Dinah Barfuor-Barwuah

His Excellency Stanislav Vidovič, Ambassador of the Republic of Slovenia, and Mrs. Ljiljana Vidovič

His Excellency Dr. László Szabó, Ambassador of Hungary, and Dr. Ivonn Szeverenyi

Her Excellency Karin Ulrika Olofsdotter, Ambassador of Sweden, and Mr. Hans Martin Bengtsson

His Excellency Francisco Santos Calderón, Ambassador of Colombia, and Mrs. Maria Victoria García

Barbara Brown Hawthorn (Diplomatic Liaison)



List of committee members updated as of August 15.


The 2019 Halcyon Awards Reception is presented by: