Lembit Beecher featuring the Aizuri Quartet and Soprano Maggie Finnegan

7:30PM | $20 | Halcyon House, 3400 Prospect St NW, Washington, DC 20007
Event Information

 7:30PM Performance | 8:30PM Meet-the-Artist Reception 

Fusing contemporary composition with precision engineering, winner of the 2016 Washington Award Grand Prize winning composer Lembit Beecher presents works-in-process from his multi-disciplinary opera, Sophia's Forest, for string quartet, soprano, and sound generating sculptures, performed by rising stars the Aizuri Quartet and soprano Maggie Finnegan. Excerpts from the Opera will be performed alongside Beecher's exquisite chamber music, and Leoš Janáček's String Quartet No. 1, "Kreutzer Sonata.”  

Major support for Sophia’s Forest has been provided by The Pew Center for Arts & Heritage.


Lembit Beecher
These Memories May Be True 
for string quartet

A Paradoxical Thing
solo soprano

Leoš Janáček
String Quartet No. 1, "Kreutzer Sonata”

Excerpts from Sophia’s Forest 
for string quartet, soprano, sculptures and music box

Praised by The New York Times for his “alluring, emotive” work, composer Lembit Beecher creates intimate and dramatically potent musical experiences.

In 2011 Beecher was appointed to a three-year term as the inaugural composer-in-residence of Opera Philadelphia, in collaboration with Gotham Chamber Opera and the Music Theatre Group of New York. Drawing on family stories about Estonia and the immigrant experience, Beecher has written And Then I Remember, a documentary oratorio based on interviews with his grandmother—which won the Opera Vista Competition for new opera.

Beecher’s recent focus on vocal writing and dramatic works led to collaborations with Cantori New York, Tapestry New Opera, and mezzo-soprano Laura Mercado-Wright. In 2015, Beecher received Center support to create Sophia's Forest, a multi-disciplinary chamber opera scored for mezzo-soprano, string quartet, and a sculptural musical instrument.